PRETORIA OFFICE

PO Box 15515 Sinoville 0129

(012) 743 3000Fax: 086 668 0750

E-mail: info@nationalfund.co.za Website: www.nationalfund.co.za



REGIONAL OFFICE PO Box 3421 Tygervalley 7536

Tax: 086 668 0750

E-mail: info@nationalfund.co.za Website: www.nationalfund.co.za

Reg no. 35064

## Who is seen as a qualifying spouse for the funeral benefit when a member is joined in marriage with more than one person?

If a MEMBER is joined in MARRIAGE with two or more persons, QUALIFYING SPOUSE means -

(a) only that one of them whom the MEMBER nominated in writing to the EMPLOYER during the person's life; or

(b) if the EMPLOYER advises SANLAM that the MEMBER has failed to nominate only one of them in terms of paragraph (a), only the one with whom he/she is joined in MARRIAGE first.

Once a nomination has been made in terms of paragraph (a), it remains in force as long as the MEMBER is joined in MARRIAGE with the relevant spouse.

## How can a member make provision for an additional spouse to be covered for the funeral benefit?

An additional spouse will be seen as an EXTENDED FAMILY MEMBER and can be covered for the funeral benefit provided that -

(a) the additional spouse is nominated in writing to the FUND by the MEMBER; and

(b) the MEMBER is joined in MARRIAGE with the additional spouse; and

(c) once an additional spouse with whom the MEMBER is joined in MARRIAGE has been nominated, the nomination remains in force as long as the MEMBER is joined in MARRIAGE with the relevant spouse; and

(d) a nomination may be made once a year on POLICY ANNIVERSARY as agreed upon between the FUND and SANLAM; and

(e) he/she at the time of qualifying for insurance in terms of the Policy, is not yet 75 years of age.

## Please contact the fund if you require further information.

In the event of the principal member's death of disability before the age of 65 years, the cover will continue until such time as the member would have attained the age of 65 years.

**Board of Trustees effective 1 January 2019:** Mr C C K Antonio (Chairperson of Board of Trustees); Ms M C Makgalemele (Chairperson of Communications Committee); Mr H S Rossouw (Chairperson of Investment Committee); Mr E A Schutte (Chairperson of Legal Committee); Mr K G Booysen; Mr N C Cindi; Mr L Geldenhuys; Ms M E Jantjie; Ms C J Labuschagne; Mr P S Mofokeng; Mr N J Nkuna; Mr P R Nolutshungu; Mr R Solomons